Improvisation

1 Dec

A speech that you give without any preparation is “improvisation”. These can be the most difficult kind of speeches, but also the most fun!

Next class we will learn how to improvise with some tips and lots of practice.

Watch the video of an American student named Tam deliver an improvised speech. The teacher gives him the topic “Pokemon” and he has to make a speech. The topic then changes during his speech to “Pikachu” then “spells” and the teacher keeps changing the topic. Click HERE to watch then tell me what you think in the comments.

Let’s try it next class!

**Start thinking about the topic you might want to do for your final presentation**

46 Responses to “Improvisation”

  1. Shingo Nemoto T2 December 4, 2015 at 16:42 #

    Improvisation seems to be difficult. But he spoke well and never stopped his words. And he used gestures, facial expressions was good. Time to think of is also used well.

  2. Ekyo Jo T3 December 6, 2015 at 23:17 #

    I like this way of speech. We don’t need to prepare and think what to talk about. But the thing is we have to keep speaking; there’s no time to think. Maybe it’s a little difficult to do that though. On this point, Tam did very good.

  3. Rei Osada t2 December 7, 2015 at 11:12 #

    I think what is important in improvisation speech is to keep on speaking. And what is the worst is to stop speaking. Tam in this video keps on speaking something, so he looks very good. Even if the contents are not good, I think continuing to speak makes the whole better.

  4. Anna Kokura T3 December 7, 2015 at 13:19 #

    Improvising seems difficult for me. I don’t think I’m very good at coming up with what to talk in a moment. Tam never stops speaking, and I am really impressed.

  5. Yuhi Watanabe T3 December 7, 2015 at 13:39 #

    I’m not good at speaking and needless to say, I’m really anxious about speaking in this style, improvisation. Even in Japanese, I’m poor at speaking without any preparation. I always seek to speak in proper words and word order, then get confused. Through the practice, I want to change my way of speech.

  6. Kaho Mochida T2 December 7, 2015 at 15:18 #

    This speech is very effective for me because the speaker should say what he comes up. If I can prepare for the speech, l only concentrate on memorizing the words and I cannot improve speaking skill. However, at this speech I should keep speaking and l’ll try to speak in order to make myself understood. I want to try it.

  7. Nao Kobayashi T3 December 7, 2015 at 17:30 #

    I thought this type of speech is very interesting because you can talk whatever you come up with. But it could be hard of you don’t know anything about the given topic. Imagination can be required for this so people who like to make up stories may be good at this.
    Your own speaking ability matters a lot but I thought the audience should also cooperate to make the speaker comfortable.

  8. Ayaka Goto T3 December 7, 2015 at 18:01 #

    I think improvisation is difficult to do at first because you keep talking on, and have to come up with new idea quickly. If I am not familiar with a topic, I will probably stop talking, so I thought Tam was great. However, if you can do this type of speech well, you can get confidence, and also your speeking skill will improve a lot.

  9. Yui Komatsu T2 December 7, 2015 at 21:01 #

    This way of speech seems to be difficult. But it seems fun. It doesn’t need any preparation. I’m not good at keep talking for certain minutes, so I really impressed that Tam never stopped speaking.

  10. Shunsuke Sasaki T2 December 7, 2015 at 21:24 #

    To watch the video, I think that improvisation is too difficult for me. I don’t think I can keep on speaking. But Tam didn’t stop speaking and made audience laugh. I respect him for his skill. In the next class, I will try not to stop speaking. I wish good ideas would occur to me.

  11. Haruno Akizuki T3 December 7, 2015 at 21:33 #

    Because I often get nervous when talking in front of many people, I felt that I’m not good at this way of making a speech where there is no time for me to think. It is true that this style let you casually speak about anything that comes up on our mind. However, I feel that the time to think about what to say is more important when you are lucky enough to have a chance to talk in front of class.

  12. Miho Kimura T 2 December 7, 2015 at 21:35 #

    Improvisation seems to be difficult for me. It’s not easy to keep talking without any preparation. However, Tam never stop talking although he didn’t have time to think. He used gestures and changed his tone of voice. They are important,so I want to speech like him.

  13. Miho Kimura T2 December 7, 2015 at 21:46 #

    Improvisation seems to be difficult for me. lt isn’t easy to keep talking without any preparation. However, Tam never stop talking although he had no time to think. He used gestures and changed his tone of voice. They are important, so I want to speech like him.

  14. Yuma Fujiwara T2 December 7, 2015 at 21:57 #

    l think improvisation is very difficult. But, Tam didn’t stop talking and he drew the attention of audience with gestures, facial expressions and so on. When I do this, I try to do like him.

  15. Mai Sato T2 December 7, 2015 at 22:40 #

    He speaks very well in this video. We have to keep speaking while improvisation, but many think it will be difficult. When he wants to think what to talk about, he use gestures, and it helps his speech looks good, I think it’s very useful way.

  16. Mina Kurosu T2 December 7, 2015 at 22:43 #

    I’m not good at improvisation because I need time to think what I will say. On the other hand, Tam could continue speaking. Moreover, he used fillers and body languages effectively. I want to talk like him.

  17. Hiroyuki Hosokawa T3 December 7, 2015 at 22:54 #

    Improvisation seems very difficult, but he does very well. He uses lots of gestures and facial expression and talks to the audience. What I think is most important in improvisation is fillers because we should buy time to think what to say next. I think he uses fillers properly.

  18. Akane Nakamura T3 December 7, 2015 at 23:15 #

    This video reminds me of the practice called ″impromptu speech″ which I did in debate club. Since I am not good at making what I think into English quickly, I was impressed by Tam´s improvised speech. I will try hard not to be confused during improvised speech practice.

  19. Kohei Yamashita T2 December 7, 2015 at 23:17 #

    I think that that kind of speech style will be really enjoyable. That was shown by what Tam did in that video. I believe that we must have a fun in the improvisation.
    At the same time, it would be fairly difficult. We need to shift what we are talking about and also thinking about. That sort of speech will be a challenging but definitely improve our skills, I believe.

  20. So Nagano December 7, 2015 at 23:29 #

    Improvisation seems a rather difficult task for me, but practicing it would definitely improve my speaking skills. I think fillers will play an extremely important role in improvisations to make time for the speaker to think. Tam did an excellent job.

  21. So Nagano December 7, 2015 at 23:34 #

    Improvisation seems a rather difficult speech, but practicing it would definitely improve my speaking skills. I think fillers will play an extremely important role in improvisations, making time for the speaker to think. Tam did an excellent job on his improvisation.

  22. Yuka Kobayashi T2 December 8, 2015 at 00:29 #

    Before watching this video, I wondered how Tam could come up with wit comments on several topics. Indeed, he didn’t seem to think what he wanted to say clearly, because he relied on funny gestures and mimics. I will try to use these useful tools in practicing improvised speech.

  23. Yukimi Nishiwaki T3 December 8, 2015 at 01:34 #

    I was impressed by Tam that he never stopped his speech whatever the topic was. Also, he made the audience laugh by making jokes. I thought impoverished speech must be really difficult for me, since I get nervous easilly when I make a speech.

  24. Asumi Kobayashi T2 December 8, 2015 at 02:00 #

    I think this way of speech is interesting but it is difficult for me because I have to keep speaking with thinking what to say. I get nervous when I speak in front of many people, so I think I cannot make an improvised speech well now. Tam was very good in that he did not stop speaking and amused the audience.

  25. Kota Umeda, T3 December 8, 2015 at 03:25 #

    His non-stopping speech was really good to watch. The speech should be very difficult for me because the topic always changes, which means that the speaker has to make a speech without any little preparations. This kind of speech skill seems to be important when speaking in public.
    But… I do not actually like his voice.

  26. Yuzuna Sato T2 December 8, 2015 at 03:35 #

    It seems difficult to make a speech without any preparation. In the video, topic of the speech was changed many times, but Tam did not stop speaking. I want to practice in next class so that I can speak like him.

    • Koichiro Iida T2 December 8, 2015 at 05:36 #

      One of the most important things in improvisation is not wording. Those who enjoy the difficult situation look nice. In older to be a good improviser, like Tam, you should have a free spirit, brave heart and quick mind.

  27. Koichiro Iida T2 December 8, 2015 at 05:21 #

    One of the most important things in improvisation is not worrying. Those who enjoy the situation look nice. In order to be such one, like Tam, we have to have free spirits, brave hearts and quick minds.

  28. Koichiro Iida T2 December 8, 2015 at 05:25 #

    One of the most important things in improvisation is not worrying. Those who enjoy the difficult situation look nice. In order to be a nice speaker, like Tam, you should have a free spirit, brave heart and quick mind.

  29. Koichiro Iida T2 December 8, 2015 at 05:42 #

  30. Yukino Yoshida T2 December 8, 2015 at 07:37 #

    I thougt this way of the presentation seems difficult because we must continue to talk. So, I thought Tam is a nice speaker. Also he use some gesuture and fillers. I think fillers is important especially in impovisation.

  31. Takumi Sasaki December 8, 2015 at 08:39 #

    To keep speaking is very difficult for me. However, I think this is an important thing in speaking English. Tam could keep speaking very well. At first, maybe, I can’t. However, through this class, I want to overcome my problem of speaking.

  32. RITSU Takami T2 December 8, 2015 at 08:40 #

    It seems that this improv speech is difficult for me. It’s because we have to express our thought immediately, and keep talking. I think Tam’s speech was good very much. He used many gestures, fillers, and facial expressions effectively.

  33. Mayuko Ochiai T2 December 8, 2015 at 08:49 #

    I was surprised because Tom speaks without a stop. And it’s good he makes many gestures. I think improvisation is so difficult for me. I want to listen to tips carefully next class.

  34. Nao Takarada T2 December 8, 2015 at 08:51 #

    I think this style of speech is very difficult for me. That’s because I always make speeches with scripts in which there is every word I say. However, it may be effective because I can do gestures in order to convey what I want to say instead of only reading the scripts.

  35. Noriko Iino T3 December 8, 2015 at 09:08 #

    This kind of speech surely is more difficult than when you prepare for speech. I think the key point of improvisation speech is that you never stop speaking and have fun. Tam doesn’t seem to take it seriously but enjoys it. It is also important to constantly think about what you’re going to say next.

  36. Chiaki Funayama T3 December 8, 2015 at 09:11 #

    Not stop speaking is the most important thing in this way of speech. To do so, the speaker has to come up with some ideas quickly and needs to know a good deal of imformation to talk about a variety of topics. Also, being relaxed and imaginative while you keep speaking are key elements of improvisation.

  37. Masaya Miyamoto T2 December 8, 2015 at 09:39 #

    I think it is difficult to make a speech in this way. However, I learned what Tam used in his improvised speech, gestures. Funny gestures are fascinating, and he made some difference in his tone. He had come up with ideas for his speech on the spot. This is one of the most difficult tasks, but I have to accomplish with what I have learned, I think.

  38. T3 Ayumi Ota December 8, 2015 at 09:40 #

    I thought this Improvisation speech is a tough one… The man in the video was having some trouble figuring out what to say. The difficult thing is that we do not get enough time to think about topics but that we have to say something out of it. I wonder if I can do this any better than this man…

  39. Nao Wakazono T3 December 8, 2015 at 11:24 #

    The improvised speech seems difficult, because you don’t know what the next topic will be, and you can’t prepare for it. Also you need to have a good variety of words and topics to do this type of presentation. But I think it is a good way to enjoy presentations.

  40. Tomoyo Mimura t3 December 8, 2015 at 12:06 #

    I think improvisation is difficult, because you can’t stop talking and there is barely any time to think about what to speak. It would be fun to be able to speak fluently like this though.

  41. Kumpei Yamamuro T3 December 8, 2015 at 12:19 #

    It’s impossible for me to do this. Even in Japanese, I’m not sure whether I could do that. I can see the future: all I am going to say is “umm…”

  42. Marina Takeuchi December 8, 2015 at 12:21 #

    The way of his speech was frank and I thought it was good. He talked fluently and did not stop. He tried to make people laugh, so the atmosphere was good, which I thought was important.

  43. Noriko Iino T3 December 8, 2015 at 12:24 #

    I think this kind of speech is more difficult than when you prepare for the speech. The key point of improvisation speech is that you never stop speaking and have fun. Tam doesn’t seem to take it seriously but seems to enjoy it. It is also important to keep thinking about what you’re going to say next while you’re speaking.

  44. Emi Ishihara T3 December 8, 2015 at 12:24 #

    This type of speech is new and interesting.
    I don’t have the confidence to do it well but I’m sure this type of speech will help me to be able to speak fluently in front of a crowd.

  45. Rio Takane December 8, 2015 at 12:37 #

    While I saw him speaking, I felt as if I could see his brain ‘literally’ storming, thus reminding me Quick Writing. Doing this for 15 minutes would be exhausting.

Leave a Reply

