Fillers and Gestures

18 Nov

In the next class (December 1st), we will practice using gestures & fillers as well as answering questions from the audience in our next class. Please watch this VIDEO and write your reaction in the comments.
36 Responses to “Fillers and Gestures”

  1. Shingo Nemoto T2 November 27, 2015 at 16:36 #

    Before I watch this video, I didn’t think about gestures. But in this video, I could understand that gesture change speech completely. By considering where I put my hand and so on, I want to improve my speech.

  2. Takumi Sasaki November 30, 2015 at 01:32 #

    I think some speakers who use gestures can communicate what they want to say easily than other speakers who do not use gestures. In present, I can not use gestures in my speech steadily. So, I try to follow what is said in this video.

  3. Chiaki Funayama T3 November 30, 2015 at 08:04 #

    From the video, I can see the importance of using hands while speaking to keep audience’s attention. However, too much gesture backfires because it makes audience tired. They tend to pay attention to rather the speaker’s hands than the contents of speech when the speaker moves his hands all the time. The best way is using your hands only when you talk about what you want to emphasize the most.

  4. Kaho Mochida T3 November 30, 2015 at 08:45 #

    I usually fold my arms when I make a speech. In the video, however, the man uses his arms up and down, left and right. I’m not good at listening English, but his speech was easy to understand for me. I

    • Kaho Mochida T2 November 30, 2015 at 09:49 #

      I’m T2.

  5. Anna Kokura T3 November 30, 2015 at 14:06 #

    This video makes me realize the importance of using gestures in an effective way. I’ve learned that it is necessary to make gestures especially when speaking about what we want to stress.

  6. Yuka Kobayashi T2 November 30, 2015 at 17:02 #

    I never used my hands effectively in speaking, so this video is useful especially for me. I found that a speech quality partly depends on how to gesture. In the next class, I’m going to make use of the important part of the body.

  7. Mina Kurosu T2 November 30, 2015 at 17:12 #

    Thanks to this video, I can understand the importance of the gestures. There are many kinds of gestures and each one has different meanings. In fact, I tend to use many gestures when I make a speech. However, I learned that makes the audience feel bored. So I want to practice making a gesture effectively in the next class.

  8. Kohei Yamashita T2 November 30, 2015 at 17:28 #

    I always use gestures when I give a speech in order not to be free from pressure. That makes me very relaxed. When I do not give it, I will use them to make my explanations simple. However in my case, I should be conscious about what they mean. I always do that unconsciously. And also, I do not think that I always make a ‘basic form’ (putting my hands in the middle of the stomach). So I should learn how to make it.
    Another thing I noticed when I watched that video is that what the man spoke was very easy to understand to me. It was very natural British accent and spoke in a good speed. I would like him to be a role model when I give a speech.

  9. Ayaka Goto T3 November 30, 2015 at 18:18 #

    I cannot use gesturers well, so this video is really helpful for me. I realized that the quality of speech improves when we use gesturers effectively. I also learned where I should put my hand while I need not to use gesturers.

  10. Miho Kimura T2 November 30, 2015 at 18:54 #

    I don’t usually use any gestures when I give a speech. I don’t know how I should do and have confidence. However, using some gestures is effective in order to catch audience’s attention and emphasize what l want to tell the most. Therefore, I try to use them as the video shows.

  11. Yui Komatsu T2 November 30, 2015 at 19:37 #

    The video shows the importance of gestures in a speech. Not using any gestures makes audience feel boring, while too much gestures may be an obstacle. When I give a speech, I should think how effectively I use gestures.

  12. Yuhi Watanabe T3 November 30, 2015 at 20:59 #

    When I make a speech, I try to use gestures but I’m often at a loss where to put my hands while I don’t use them. This video looked as if it was talking about my way of speech. After I hesitated hands’ position, I always put hands down and fold them. Now, thanks to the video, I found the proper position and got a little more confident in speaking.

  13. Kumpei Yamamuro T3 November 30, 2015 at 21:03 #

    I first realized the importance of gestures when I was watching ”Abécédaire” by Gilles Deleuze, who is my favorite philosopher. He used gestures in a very effective way. This video taught me how important it is not to make gestures too much.

  14. Shunsuke Sasaki T2 November 30, 2015 at 22:39 #

    When I make presentation in front of people, I often roll up my shirt sleeves. In the first rterm, l tried to make gesture efficiently, but I couldn’t. This video made me realize how important it is to make effective gestures in proper way. So, I try to improve my presentation by using gestures.

  15. Akane Nakamura T3 November 30, 2015 at 22:53 #

    Since I am not good at using gesture when I make a speech, I had a lot of things to learn from this video.
    There was detailed explanation about where to put hands during speech. I would like to make use of what I learned through watching the video.

  16. Rei Osada t2 November 30, 2015 at 23:04 #

    This video changed my attitude about jesture. I thought jesture meant moving our hands, but the static hands also had an important role for speech. The position of hands is related to our impression.

  17. Nao Kobayashi T3 November 30, 2015 at 23:05 #

    I usually use gesture but it is always too much. Especially when I’m nervous my gesture get worse, I can’t stop using it. I always wondered how to settle my hands, and this video gave me a solution for this bad habit. I never thought of keeping my hands in front of my bellybutton and use them whenever I need to and put them back. I would like to remember this tip and try to use it when I start using too much gesture again.

  18. Ayumi Ota T3 December 1, 2015 at 00:23 #

    I totally agree with this man in the video. Unnatural gestures will only ruin the speech by annoy the audience. The audience will not be able to concentrate on the speech itself if there are weird gestures going on with the speaker. Natural gestures will make the speech more active, and will give the speech a little more passion.

  19. Asumi Kobayasho T2 December 1, 2015 at 01:39 #

    I realized the importance of using gesture by this video. I had not thought about it but I found that using gesture during my speech is efficient to attract people. However, using too much gesture can make people tired, so I want to use appropriate gesture.

  20. Noriko Iino T3 December 1, 2015 at 01:59 #

    I think it true that people get self-conscious about their hands when they make a speech. It is actually difficult to gesture effectively since too much gesture tires the audience. But I learned it is also important to think about your hands when you don’t gesture during a speech and keeping them around your belt in front of you is the best from this video. I’ll try to do this when I make a speech next time.

  21. Yuzuna Sato T2 December 1, 2015 at 05:26 #

    I could understand the importance of gesture from the video. Using gestures help audience understand the speaker’s opinion easily. I have never used gestures while I’m speaking in English, so it will be difficult for me to use them at first, but I would like to try to do so in the next class.

  22. Nao Takarada T2 December 1, 2015 at 07:39 #

    I have thought that gesturing in presentation is very important, but I seldom do gestures. When I saw this video, I could know the best gesture and the importance of doing gestures. That’s because the man used it and I can enjoy his speaking. I was not tired of it.

  23. Yukino Yoshida T2 December 1, 2015 at 07:42 #

    I understood gestures are important in a presentation from the video. At the same time, I thought I couldn’t use gestures in my presentation. I try to use gesutures in effective way.

  24. Kota Umeda, T3 December 1, 2015 at 08:17 #

    The video made me recognise well the effective use of gestures, which can often be regarded to be less important when speaking in public. Doing successful gestures in practice is not so easy, but is worth trying.

  25. Yuka Kurita T3 December 1, 2015 at 08:29 #

    Through this video, I learned the importance of using the gesture when giving a speech. Effective gestures will catch audience’s attention and make the speech interesting. However, I also learned that using too much gestures sometimes make audience irritating.

  26. Masaya Miyamoto T2 December 1, 2015 at 09:21 #

    From this video, I found that gesture is important in what they consider me. A person who does not take any gesture is not effective on his presentation because he can communicate with audience by gesture. I did not take hardly any effectivde gesture, I found as well.

  27. Tomoyo Mimura T3 December 1, 2015 at 09:30 #

    I think gestures are really important, because it emphasises what you really want to say. I want to use it to make my speech more interesting.

  28. Nao Wakazono T3 December 1, 2015 at 12:07 #

    After watching this video, I noticed that the gestures you make can effect your audience. I wasn’t very conscious about the gestures, but by watching this, I will try to avoid doing the ones that seem defensive. From now on, I will try to pay attention to the gestures that professors do in class.

  29. Hiroyuki Hosokawa T3 December 1, 2015 at 12:16 #

    This video encouraged me to think about gestures. I am usually not conscious of my gesturing while talking, but now I know that acknowledging my gesture is very important. I tend to make too much gesture, so I need to consciously making proper gestures.

  30. So Nagano T3 December 1, 2015 at 12:17 #

    When I give a speech, my arms tend to move around restlessly with no meaning and I don’t use good gestures. From this video, I learnt how to make effective gestures to help convey my message to the audience. I will try to keep this in mind.

  31. Emi Ishihara T3 December 1, 2015 at 12:24 #

    Watching this video enabled me to think about the effect that gestures cause on people. I sometimes use gestures when I’m speaking but I realized that some gestures can be disturbing to the audience. I want to improve my gesture so that nobody would become bored listening to me speak.

  32. Haruno Akizuki T3 December 1, 2015 at 12:25 #

    I think gestures play an important role in a presentation. With gestures, listeners can easily understand what the speaker is trying to say. However, too many gestures can have negative effects. It is necessary for us to keep the good balance in between.

  33. Marina Takeuchi December 1, 2015 at 12:27 #

    I seldom aware of my jestutes, so I was inspired by this video. When talking in front of many people, I feel exposed and vulnerable . Making gestures may lessen those feelings.

  34. Rio Takane December 1, 2015 at 12:39 #

    I’ve never thought that gestures had potential annotations. The presenter showed many gestures and the possible effects they could have on the audience. Due, the video was very helpful.

  35. Ekyo Jo T3 December 6, 2015 at 23:21 #

    I’m surprised to know thatI watched this video when I studied in Columbia University this summer. I learned how to do a good presentation by using effective gestures from this video.

Leave a Reply

